top of page
Search
  • Library staff

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor

-Ally Carter


April didn’t mean to start the fire. She wasn’t even the one who broke the vase.

She had absolutely no intention of becoming the only person who knows that Gabriel Winterborne, the missing-and-presumed-dead billionaire, is neither missing nor dead and is actually living in the basement of Winterborne House, sharpening his swords and looking for vengeance.

Now that April knows Gabriel Winterborne is alive, it’s up to her to keep him that way. But there’s only so much a twelve-year-old girl can do, so April must turn to the other orphans for help. Together, they’ll have to unravel the riddle of a missing heir and a creepy legend, and find a secret key, before the only home they’ve ever known is lost to them forever.

*****

I loved it! I thought this was a fantastic mystery/suspense book for junior readers. I felt this story was well-written for its' target audience. It was quickly paced with no dull spots - the story really keeps moving and engages the reader. I found the plot believable and could easily put myself in the story. I think kids will be able to see themselves in the story and appreciate their reflection. This book is open-ended for more installments and I am curious about the main character, her Winterborne key and what that implies about her relation to the Winterborne's. The mystery of the key was not solved, and I admit as an author's ploy - it worked - because I want to read more of this series so I can finally solve *that* mystery!


Heidi Y.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page