top of page
Search
  • Library staff

Ship of Souls


by Zetta Elliot


The concept behind this book was absolutely amazing. I wanted so badly to be able to say that I loved it, however, I found it to be lacking on several fronts. I feel that Elliot dropped the ball on several excellent opportunities for world building, character and plot development. Instead there was filler in odd places that led no where, information for the sake of information. In fact, I would go so far as to say that the question at the end (there was a discussion section, my first thoughts "the audacity") were far more engaging than the actual writing. It gives me the same vibes as "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button", where we have a gorgeous idea and horrific execution. It's one of those books that inspire you to take the concept and do something greater. I will attempt one more book by Elliott before I throw the towel in, as I believe there is redemption for everyone, but at the end of the book, I found myself not really caring what happened to any of the characters and only wishing the book would end.


Raven T.


7 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page