top of page
Search
  • Library staff

Lovecraft Country

by Matt Ruff


After watching the first season of the show on HBO, I was hesitant to take the book on. I was so satisfied by what I saw, I wasn’t quite sure how the book would make me feel. Overall, I enjoyed the story, of course it’s slightly different than the show (Gotta love creative differences!), there was still some amazing moments offered. Especially when it comes to the explanation of Hippolyta’s story, serious differences from the show, but I like his attempt to explain an experience he couldn’t possibly truly understand. One of the more captivating parts of the series on HBO was the journey that Hippolyta took, and while both Misha Green and Matt Huff explored the black female experience, Matt really left a lot on the table and in some moments, I wondered if he has female friends. Again, I really enjoyed the book, but I experienced true sadness and joy at the end of the HBO series, whereas with the book, I was just glad that the journey had come to an end. I still recommend this one, I also heavily encourage everyone to check out the HBO series after.


Raven T.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page