top of page
Search
  • Library staff

"Holding Up The Universe"

by Jennifer Niven


I loved this book so much, I bought a copy for my personal library.

I'm not sure I can convey how much I loved this book.  I have never enjoyed a story of two teens falling in love more than this.  I think I fell in love with the characters of Libby and Jack.

This story is based-on a real person the author knows and I felt it gave the story authenticity.    "Sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours." Both characters are wanting clean slates from who their classmates have cataloged them as.  Both characters have faced great discrimination from their classmates and personal medical/health adversity.  Both characters learn that the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. There are themes in this book that may be difficult for readers. I feel difficult subjects have their place in teen literature so they can illuminate shameful secrets and behaviors.  Doing so perhaps initiates change and can be a catalyst to foster hope in readers who find themselves in similar situations. People can be awful for a lot of reasons.  Sometimes they're just awful people.  Sometimes people have been awful to them, and even though they don't realize it, they take that awful upbringing and go out into the world treating others the same way.  Sometimes they're awful because they are afraid.  Sometimes they choose to be awful to others before others can be awful to them - sort of like self-defensive behavior. This is not a story of a boy rescuing a girl.  This is a story of two people realizing exactly who they are, owning it and rescuing themselves.  I found it enlightening, uplifting and empowering. I highly recommend this book to all readers, teens and adults. Heidi Y.

11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page