top of page
Search
  • Library staff

Anne of Green Gables

by Lucy Maud Montgomery


I was introduced to Anne through Kevin Sullivan's mini-series that was often aired on PBS. I then read the book (and its sequels) in my teen years.


I found a lot of comfort in Anne's story, as I could relate to her overactive imagination and awkward social behavior. And seeing her thrive after all of the judgment and hardship she faced was inspiring.

This is primarily seen as a book for young girls, but I think many people would benefit from reading this classic.


And though it was published in 1908, Anne of Green Gables is in no way outdated. Take this excerpt for example;


"You're not eating anything," said Marilla sharply, eying her as if it were a serious shortcoming. Anne sighed.


"I can't. I'm in the depths of despair. Can you eat when

you are in the depths of despair?"


I've never been in the depths of despair, so I can't say," responded Marilla.


Weren't you? Well, did you ever try to IMAGINE you were in

the depths of despair?"


No, I didn't."


Then I don't think you can understand what it's like. It's very uncomfortable a feeling indeed." (Montgomery, 1908)


I think we can all relate to the depths of despair.


Amber N.

35 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page