top of page
Search
  • Library staff

Slay

WHOA, WHOA, WHOA, this YA novel will knock your socks off. Whether your preteen or teen is a gamer or not this novel is fantastic, it offers one of the most transparent perspectives of POC in the gaming community that I have seen to date. If there was a battle cry for teenage Blerds, this would be it and the chant would be something like “Slay, Slay, Slay”. I can’t express how important it is for young POC to be seen, to feel heard, and feel safe. Unfortunately, in the gaming community, they are not only shunned by other gamers but by developers as well. It reminds of all that because of the atmosphere that has been created and reinforced that it’s necessary for POC to have a place to express themselves without having to apologize for who they are, and are able to celebrate the heroes who look like them and enjoy the culture that they have created. It’s important for these young men and women to be able to enjoy the things that their non-POC cohorts are able to enjoy on a regular basis. This book offers a perspective that most people want to ask about but don’t, it also explains the issues within the community of POC (African American specifically, in this book) and the standards set and exclusions that shape their “ideal POC”, really showing the impact of elitism within that community, and the effects there after. Morris poured her soul out here, and despite repeatedly noting that she doesn't speak for all people of color, I can tell you she certainly mirrored some of my own experiences. I can personally say that every single situation mentioned is one I have experienced myself, and I wish I had something like this to share with my friends who were ignorant to the things that were happening to me simply because I have a different skin tone than my neighbor. Representation matters, friends who are open and willing to learn and love you for you are, matter. This book shows the effects of having both and how much those allies mean and the difference they can make, while reminding POC that sometimes the people you expect ignorance from will be the ones to support you when you need it most.


Raven T


6 views

Recent Posts

See All

Burn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page